September 16, 2012

Federal Skilled Trades Class (FSTC)

If you have at least two years work experience in the following areas, you may be eligible to file an application under the proposed Federal Skilled Trades Class (FSTC):

  • Industrial, Electrical and Construction Trades;
  • Maintenance and Equipment Operation Trades;
  • Supervisors and Technical Occupations in Natural Resources, Agriculture and Related Production;
  • Processing, Manufacturing and Utilities Supervisors and Central Control Operators;
  • Chefs and Cooks
  • Bakers and Butchers.

Applicants to the proposed program would be required to meet four minimum requirements:
  1. A qualifying offer of employment from up to two employers in Canada of at least one year duration or a Certificate of Qualification from a provincial or territorial Apprenticeship Authority;
  2. Language proficiency, as evidenced by a test from a designated language testing organization that demonstrates the applicant’s abilities in the requisite skill areas meet the threshold set by the Minister in all four language abilities (speaking, reading, writing, oral comprehension);
  3. Twenty-four months of work experience (after qualification/certification in the country where the work was performed, where applicable) in the same skilled trade in the last five years; and
  4. Qualifications that satisfy employment requirements as described by the NOC, except for certification and licensing requirements, which are difficult to obtain outside Canada. 
Image Credit:

The enumerated job classifications above are included in the NOC Skill Level B category and may also be eligible under the new Federal Skilled Workers Program, where an offer of employment is not mandatory.